SOUTH WEST BRASS BAND ASSOCIATION

Minutes of the 72nd Annual General Meeting held on Sunday 25th March 2018 at the Okehampton Conservative Club Okehampton commencing at 1230 Hrs

1/18 PRESENT: Raymond Kingdon (Chair), Simon James (Secretary/Registrar), Doreen Daw (Treasurer), John Croker (Minutes Secretary)(Rep. Bideford Town Band), Frances Calver (Trophy Officer),

Executive Committee - Keith Edwards (Rep. Appledore Band), Keith Gibbs (Honorary Life Member), Gilbert Taylor (Rep. South Molton Town Band), Robin Teague, Gillian Rogers (Rep. Weston Brass)

Bands represented: Hartland Town, Okehampton Excelsior, St Dennis, Tiverton Town.

2/18 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE: John Woods (Vice-Chair), Brian Elliott (Life Vice-President).

Bands: Bodmin Town, Callington Town, Crediton Town, Exeter Railway, Holsworthy Town, SW Comms.

3/18 MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF 26th MARCH 2017 were approved by those present and signed by the Chairman as a true record.

4/18 REPORT FOR THE YEAR ENDING 31.12.2017 was presented by the Secretary Simon James on behalf of the Executive Committee. It was adopted by the meeting unanimously. The Chairman thanked the Secretary for his work during his first year in office and in turn the Secretary thanked both the Executive and the member bands for their support and assistance in what had been a steep learning curve.

5/18 ACCOUNTS FOR THE YEAR ENDING 31.12.2017.

These were presented by the Treasurer Doreen Daw. The Chairman thanked the Treasurer for her work particularly as it was her first year in office. She thanked the previous Treasurer Keith Gibbs for all his assistance throughout the year and during the preparation of these accounts. They were adopted after proposal from Hartland Town Band and seconded by Okehampton Excelsior.

6/18 ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTIONS FOR MEMBER BANDS

The recommendation of the Executive Committee that the Annual Subscription will NOT be increased for the year 2019. Proposed by South Molton Town Seconded by Weston Brass. All in favour.

7/18 ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 2018/2019

President Sue Richards
Chairman Ray Kingdon
Vice-Chairman John Woods
Secretary Simon James
Treasurer Doreen Daw
Trophy Officer Frances Calver

Minutes Secretary John Croker

Executive Committee Keith Edwards, Keith Gibbs, Gillian Rogers, Gilbert Taylor, Robin Teague.

Proposed by St Dennis Seconded by Tiverton Town. All agreed.

8/18 COUNCIL OF WEST OF ENGLAND BRASS BAND ASSOCIATIONS

The executive Committee recommend that the following be appointed as delegates to the council:

Ray Kingdon, John Woods and Gil Taylor plus any other delegate appointed by the Executive Committee as substitute.

Proposed by Weston Brass Seconded by Hartland Town. All in favour.

9/18 ARTHUR BEDWELL MEMORIAL TRUST

The Executive Committee recommends that the elected trustees be John Croker, Gill Rogers and Gil Taylor Proposed by St Dennis and seconded by Keith Gibbs. All in favour.

The meeting closed at 1255 hours