SOUTH WEST BRASS BAND ASSOCIATION

Minutes of the 73rd Annual General Meeting held on Sunday 24th March 2019 at the Okehampton Conservative Club commencing at 1115 hours

In attendance

Raymond Kingdon Chair John Woods Vice-Chair Simon James Secretary/Registrar Frances Calver Trophy Officer for SWBBA Keith Edwards Executive Member also rep. For Appledore Band Executive Member, Hon Life member, also rep. Bideford Band Keith Gibbs Gillian Rogers Executive Member, also rep Weston Brass Executive member also rep. South Molton Town Band Gilbert Taylor Robin Teague **Executive Member** John Croker Minutes Secretary Arthur Arscott Crediton Town Band Hartland Town Band Peter Tomlinson Keith Anderson Redruth Town Band Soundhouse Brass Alan Gears Javne Jov St Dennis Band Graham Pillivant **Tiverton Town Band**

1/19 Apologies for absence: Torbay Brass

2/19 Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 25th March 2018 were approved by those present and signed by the Chair as a true record.

3/19 Report for the year ending 31.12.2018 was presented by Secretary Simon James on behalf of the Executive Committee. It was adopted by the meeting unanimously. The Chair thanked the Secretary for his work during the past year.

4/19 Accounts for the year ending 31.12.2018 were presented by the Acting Treasurer Simon James. Comment was made about the low costs of postage this year compared to other years, this is because of the increased use of e-mails etc. The accounts were proposed to be adopted by St Dennis seconded by Hartland Town band . All in agreement/

5/19 Honorariums to Chair Secretary and Treasurer.

At the present Chair is £140 Treasurer £400 Secretary £770

Chair and Treasurer to remain as stated.

Secretary. In the past the Secretary has organised all events this has now changed, proposal from Tiverton Band. £370 to Secretary, £100 for other events ie Exmouth, Championships, workshops. Seconded by Hartland Town Band. All in favour.

6/19 Annual subscriptions for Member Bands

The recommendation of the Executive Committee that the Annual Subscription will NOT be increased for the year 2020. Proposed by South Molton Town Band and Seconded by Crediton Town Band. All in favour.

7/19 Election of Officers and Executive Committee 2019/2020

President Sue Richards

Chair Raymond Kingdon

Vice- Chair John Woods
Treasurer Keith Anderson
Trophy Officer Frances Calver
Minutes Secretary John Croker

Executive Committee Keith Edwards, Keith Gibbs, Gillian Rogers, Gilbert Taylor, Robin Teague Proposed en bloc by Soundhouse Brass seconded by Hartland Town. All in favour.

The position of Secretary/registrar remains open with the resignation of Simon James who explained his reasons for leaving. Chair thanked him for his services. Rep. for Tiverton band said his correspondence to bands had been outstanding. Frances Calver said the position of Registrar can be ignored as only a small part of the position. Bands generally had not yet been made aware of the vacancy as the decision had only recently been made. John Woods prepared to mentor anyone willing to come onto Committee. Similar problem in Cornwall, had been resolved with a crisis meeting. Bands to be mailshot and telephoned.

Proposal that crisis meeting be held on April 28th at Okehampton, backed up by phone calls to member bands and letters. Proposed by Robin Teague seconded by South Molton Band. All in favour. Simon James agreed to stay in temporary post until 28th April this year.

8/19 COUNCIL OF WEST OF ENGLAND BRASS BAND ASSOCIATIONS

The Executive Committee recommend that the following be appointed as delegates to the council: Raymond Kingdon, John Woods and Gilbert Taylor. Plus any other delegate appointed by the Executive Committee as substitute. Proposed by crediton Town Band seconded by Tiverton Town Band. All in favour.

9/19 ARTHUR BEDWELL TRUST

The Executive Committee recommends that the elected trustees be John Croker, Gill Rogers and Gilbert Taylor. All in favour.

The meeting closed at 1215 hours